top of page

Cosplayer Interview: Moderately Okay Cosplay


Today's Featured Cosplayer is my Long time and very talented friend Moderately Okay Cosplay aka John.

I've known John for almost 3 years now, I first met him officially at Dragoncon 2014. John is one of the best cosplayers out there with his amazing armor making skills and immersive talent.

 

Moderately Okay Cosplay

Florida Based Cosplayer

1. Before we start can you Tell us a little bit about the person behind the cosplayer, Tell us about yourself?

Hi! I’m John. I’m 23 years old and I live in Orlando, Florida. When I’m not cosplay, I’m a fine dining bartender, and I have two bachelor’s degrees in the field of Psychology. Other than cosplay, my hobbies include playing guitar and playing video games.

2. So lets get started with the obvious question: How and when did you get started in cosplaying?

I got into cosplay in 2013 because I wanted to make a costume of Draven from League of Legends, but it was nowhere near Halloween. So a friend of mine was like “Make it for a convention!” and I was like “A what?” and then they explained convention and cosplay culture to me and the rest is history!

3. How many costumes have you worn since you started and which is your favorite and which was the most challenging to make?

I have no idea how many I’ve worn. If I had to venture a guess it’s easily around 40 at this point. My favorite was probably Mettaton EX from Undertale or Genos from One Punch Man. The most challenging to make has been the cosplay I’m currently working on, Jhin from League of Legends. I have no idea how they came up with this design, it’s insane. It’s unlike anything I’ve ever done before.

4. Which character do you find the easiest to portray and which is the hardest?

The easiest to portray is probably Mettaton from Undertale. You just have to pose and be generally flamboyant for people, and it makes them happy! As for hardest…I’m not sure! Every character has a unique personality and quirks that I can usually pick up on and lend to my cosplay.

5. Since you started how many conventions have you attended and which one is on top of your list?

I have no idea exactly how many. Dozens at this point. My favorite is absolutely Holiday Matsuri. I think any Florida cosplayer can agree that Hol Mat has the best atmosphere of any Florida convention.

6. Speaking of conventions, do you have any interesting or memorable stories?

I have so many! I think my most interesting experience happened when I was a guest cosplayer at Magic City Comic-Con. I was sitting in the guest area, eating lunch, and Dan Slott, the writer of Amazing Spider-Man and a lot of other great comic books, just sits down next to me and is like “I don’t know anyone here, you probably don’t know me, so high school rules, I’m sitting with you.” He wrote one of my favorite comic book series of all time, Superior Spider-Man, so of course I’m freaking out internally and we end up just talking about comic books for an hour or so. It was unbelievable!

7. You have cosplayed a large range of characters, if all of them were to fight in an all battle royale…who would come out the victor?

It’s easily Trafalgar Law, from One Piece. Especially if the battle is in a set area. Law’s power in the anime/manga allows him to make a “room” in which he can control literally everything. If the “room” is around the battle, nobody else stands a chance.

8. What advice do you have for someone just starting out?

Have fun! Above anything else, have fun. You will have people who judge you, you will have people who say venomous things, but stay above that. We’re all people wearing wigs on weekends, after all!

9. Who and what is your biggest inspiration in your life?

My mother, for sure. She’s such an awesome, strong person and she always supports me in what I do.

10. If you can have any super power, what would it be and why?

The power to control gravity. If you finessed it, it would be the coolest super power ever! You could even fly, theoretically.

11. Can you tell us about any planned cosplays and conventions you got coming up?

Sure! My next convention is PAX East in Boston, April 22-24. After that, I’m in Florida for most of the year, with Megacon, Anime Festival Orlando, Supercon, and Holiday Matsuri.

12. What are other ways your fans can follow you?

Moderately Okay Cosplay on Facebook, and @moderatelyokaycosplay on Instagram and Tumblr! I use Instagram for all of my progress, so if you want to see the behind the scenes, that’s where you’ll find it!

13. If you could say anything to your Fans, Family and Friends, What would it be?

You guys rock, I love you all so much, and I’m so lucky to have all of you and your support. Thank you.

BriLan Imagery and Moderately Okay Cosplay

 

PHOTO GALLERY

Photo credits:

Kaze Photography

Papanottzi

BriLan Imagery

Thank You for checking out this amazing interview, while your here. Please go Check out the rest of the page and see the rest of my work on my portfolio area.

THANK YOU

Brian Lansangan

Photography / Blogger

Facebook: Facebook.com/BriLanImagery

Instagram: @BriLanImagery

Twitter: @BriLanImagery

Featured Posts
Recent Posts
Archive
Search By Tags
No tags yet.
Follow Us
  • Facebook Basic Square
  • Twitter Basic Square
  • Google+ Basic Square
bottom of page